Poetic generosity of Pierre Lecuire

Reliure de Monique Mathieu sur From its inauguration in 1983 until a short time ago, Michel Wittock’s friend Pierre Lecuire, poet, publisher and creator of books has constantly enriched the Wittockiana’s collections by donating many of his poetic works. And then Michel Wittock has taking pleasure in having them covered by master bookbinders.

In 2007, the poet and his wife Mila Gagarine decided to donate to the Wittockiana ten bindings for ten copies of one work illustrated by ten great contemporary artists, La Nuit bleue, a poetic vision of Pierre Lecuire relating to the events of May 1968 in Paris.

To those of the master bookbinders Georges Leroux, LanskoyPierre-Lucien Martin, Monique Mathieu, Jean de Gonet, Germaine de Coster, Jean Knoll, Mechthild Lobisch, Liliane Gérard, Sün Evrard and Anne Goy, he added his own bindings of the same book produced by the designers Monique Mathieu, Liliane Gérard, Milena Alessi and Edgard Claes.

Largesses poétiques de Pierre Lecuire

Depuis son inauguration en 1983 jusqu’il y a peu, l’ami de Michel Wittock, Pierre Lecuire, poète, éditeur et architecte du livre, n’a jamais cessé d’enrichir les collections de la Wittockiana en lui offrant une grande partie de son œuvre poétique que le collectionneur s’est ensuite plu à faire habiller par quelques grands maîtres-relieurs.

En 2007, le poète et son épouse Mila Gagarine décidaient d’offrir à la Wittockiana dix reliures parant autant d’exemplaires du même ouvrage, œuvres de dix grands artistes contemporains, sur La Nuit bleue, une vision poétique de Pierre Lecuire liée aux événements de mai 1968 à Paris.

À ces maîtres-relieurs qui avaient pour noms Georges Leroux, Pierre-Lucien Martin, Monique Mathieu, Jean de Gonet, Germaine de Coster, Jean Knoll, Mechthild Lobisch, Liliane Gérard, Sün Evrard et Anne Goy, Michel Wittock a joint ici ses propres reliures qui habillent le même livre et dont les couturiers s’appellent Monique Mathieu, Liliane Gérard, Milena Alessi et Edgard Claes.