The Lucien Bonaparte fund

Fonds Lucien BonaparteMichel Wittock’s children are directly descended from Lucien Bonaparte on their mother’s side, which explains why the Wittockiana conserves certain family effects, including an important collection of archives and documents relating to the brother of Napoleon and his family. An imposing bust of Lucien Bonaparte, Prince of Canino and Musignano, can be admired in the Wittockiana’s Council Room, surrounded by a library full of books from various periods.

The library’s showpiece is without a doubt the imposing series of 33 volumes forming the famous Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers, Par une Société de Gens de Lettres (Paris, 1751–1777). Under the direction of Diderot and d’Alembert, over 200 eminent authors and experts collaborated in this vast project, one of the most ambitious undertaken in French publishing under the AncienRégime. These precious volumes in speckled calf, most of which bear on their front cover the gilded emblemof the order of lawyers of Rennes and on the first inside cover the engraved bookplate of Prince Gabrielli, son-in-law of the Prince of Canino, were probably confiscated by Lucien Bonaparte when he was Minister for the Interior.

Another significant collection is the Correspondence of Napoleon Bonaparte, published by order of the Emperor Napoleon III (Paris, Imprimerie impériale, 1858–1869). This publication, printed on “grand papier”, comprises 32 volumes; it was printed for the Emperor and could not be bought commercially. This copy was given by Napoleon III to his cousin Prince Gabrielli.

The archives of the Lucien Bonaparte collection consist mainly of the handwritten memoirs, contained in a number ofnotebooks, of Princess Julie Bonaparte, who held a literary salon in Paris under the Second Empire. Both interesting and unusual, they are accompanied by a dozen family photo albums dating from the end of the first half of the 19th century.

Le fonds Lucien Bonaparte

Fonds Lucien BonaparteLes enfants de Michel Wittock sont, par leur mère, descendants en ligne directe de Lucien Bonaparte. Ceci explique que la Wittockiana conserve quelques reliques familiales dont un important fonds d’archives et de documentation concernant le frère de l’empereur Napoléon et sa famille. Dans la salle du conseil de la Wittockiana, on peut admirer, trônant au milieu d’une bibliothèque remplie de livres de diverses époques, le majestueux buste de Lucien Bonaparte, prince de Canino et de Musignano.

La pièce majeure de cette bibliothèque est incontestablement représentée par l’imposante série des 33 volumes formant la célèbre Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers, Par une Société de Gens de Lettres (Paris, 1751-1777). Sous la direction de Diderot et d’Alembert, plus de deux cents auteurs connus et experts ont collaboré à cette vaste entreprise, « l’une des plus ambitieuses qu’ait tentées l’édition française sous l’Ancien Régime ». Ces précieux volumes en veau moucheté, dont la majeure partie porte sur les plats des reliures l’emblème doré de l’ordre des avocats de Rennes et au premier contreplat l’ex-libris gravé du prince Gabrielli, gendre du prince de Canino, ont fait probablement l’objet d’une saisie par Lucien à l’époque où ce dernier était Ministre de l’Intérieur.

Un autre bel ensemble digne d’être mentionné est la Correspondance de Napoléon Ier, publiée par ordre de l’empereur Napoléon III (Paris, Imprimerie impériale, 1858-1869). Cette édition, imprimée ici sur grand papier, comprend trente-deux volumes; elle a été tirée pour l’empereur et ne se trouve pas dans le commerce. Il s’agit de l’exemplaire offert par Napoléon III à son cousin le prince Gabrielli.

Les archives du fonds Lucien Bonaparte consistent essentiellement dans les Mémoires autographes, rédigés sur plusieurs cahiers manuscrits, de la main de la princesse Julie Bonaparte qui tenait un salon littéraire à Paris sous le Second Empire. Aussi intéressants qu’inédits, ils sont accompagnés d’une douzaine d’albums de photos de famille datant de la fin de la première moitié du XIXe siècle.