The museum space

Where?

The Bibliotheca Wittockiana is situated close to an undulating parkdotted with calm lakes on the edge of the Forêt de Soignes, yet still within the city of Brussels, in the commune of Woluwe-Saint-Pierre.

Architecture

Michel Wittockcommissioned his friend, the architect Emmanuel de Callataÿ, to build his library. Like a protective shell, the building is built into the ground, hidden under trees and ivy. The walls, of powerfully striated raw concrete showing traces of formwork, were designed to protect and conserve the collections. Inside is a series of simple spaces; the exhibition rooms are a place for reflection, a closed space but full of light from the diagonally-placed arrow slit windows.
The first floor was not added until 12 years later. Designed and built by Charly Wittock, the plan was to top the existing building with a light, open construction to house the living areasincluding offices, a large exhibition space and a large reading room.

Présentation spatiale

Où ?

La Bibliotheca Wittockiana est à la fois proche des eaux paisibles d’un parc vallonné, à l’orée de la forêt de Soignes, tout en étant située dans l’agglomération bruxelloise sur le territoire de la Commune de Woluwe-Saint-Pierre.

Architecture

Michel Wittock fit construire sa bibliothèque par son ami architecte, Emmanuel de Callataÿ. Tel un coffre protecteur, le bâtiment est construit enfoui dans le sol, caché sous les arbres et le lierre. Les murs en béton brut puissamment striés et porteurs des traces de coffrage furent pensés pour protéger et conserver les collections. À l’intérieur, des volumes simples se succèdent, les salles d’exposition sont un lieu de contemplation, un espace fermé mais pourtant lumineux grâce à des fenêtres-meurtrières placées en diagonale.

Ce n’est que 12 ans plus tard que vint s’ajouter le premier étage. Pensé et réalisé par Charly Wittock, le projet consistait à poser sur le bâtiment existant une construction légère et largement ouverte sur l’extérieur, destinée à accueillir les espaces de vie tels que les bureaux, un large hall d’exposition et une vaste salle de lecture.