History

Creation

The Bibliotheca Wittockiana, which bears the name of its founder, has been built by Emmanuel de Callataÿ and opened in autumn 1983. Michel Wittock had been an avid bibliophile since adolescence, and over his lifetime had built up an outstanding collection of books, manuscripts and autographs. When he decided to share this with his bibliophile friends and opened his library to the public, the Wittockiana quickly gained a reputation far beyond its founder’s hopes and expectations. The success of its publications and exhibitions among a wider public than had been expected, as well as international recognition, meant that it gradually became an indispensable reference point for bibliophiles. It thus became necessary to extend the premises. In 1995 construction of the first floor was entrusted to his youngest son Charly Wittock, who had become an architect.

Recognition by the museum world

In 2010 the Bibliotheca Wittockiana was recognised as a museum by the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. As a result of this recognition, the Wittockiana can now claim to be the only museum of the art and craft of bookbinding and an organiser of related projects.

From passion to donation

In 2011, the founder of the Wittockiana created the Michel Wittock Foundation within the King Baudouin Foundation, in order to secure his collections for perpetuity. Michel Wittock entrusted the most representative works of his collection to the Foundation.

copyright: Frank Toussaint

Histoire

Création

La Bibliotheca Wittockiana, qui porte le nom de son fondateur, a été conçue par Emmanuel de Callataÿ et a ouvert ses portes à l’automne 1983. Passionné de bibliophilie depuis son adolescence, Michel Wittock a réuni durant sa vie une impressionnante collection de livres, manuscrits et autographes. Lorsqu’il décida d’en faire profiter ses amis bibliophiles et qu’il ouvrit sa bibliothèque au public, la Wittockiana connut un retentissement dépassant les espérances et les ambitions de son fondateur. Les circonstances ont en quelque sorte accéléré son devenir puisque le succès de ses publications et expositions auprès d’un public plus vaste que prévu ainsi que la reconnaissance internationale en ont progressivement fait une institution incontournable pour les bibliophiles. Un agrandissement des locaux devint dès lors nécessaire. Les travaux du premier étage furent confiés en 1995 à son fils cadet Charly Wittock, devenu entre-temps architecte.

Reconnaissance muséale

En 2010, la Bibliotheca Wittockiana fut reconnue comme musée par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. Grâce à cette reconnaissance, la Wittockiana peut désormais s’accréditer en tant qu’unique musée de la reliure et des arts du livre et réaliser de nombreux projets.

De la passion au don

En 2011, le fondateur de la Wittockiana a créé au sein de la Fondation Roi Baudouin le Fonds Michel Wittock afin d’assurer la pérennité de ses collections. Ce Fonds, Michel Wittock l’a doté de la partie la plus représentative de sa collection.